An ugly victory vs Avalanche led the Stars to win 7 of their last 8 games
The 4-1 Dallas win on Tuesday seemed to be a disjointed one for both the Avalanche and the Stars.
The two teams ended the game with a combination of 15 penalties and nearly 26 minutes on the power on Tuesday night. The Star finally gained their seventh victory in their last eight tries. Also missing on 2 coach’s challenges, Colorado spent 6 minutes of power play time for the Stars. Regarding Dallas, there was 3 penalties (hooking twice and interference) for Blake Comeau, 2 penalties (hooking and holding) for Alexander Radulov. Besides, Miro Heiskanen and Jamie Oleksiak were called for interference, and Esa Lindell was whistled for infractions.
The Stars received 15 saves from goal-tender – Ben Bishop –and got a perfect 8 for 8 on the penalty kill. With 11 shots on goal, Dallas was 1 for 7 on the power play. The second goal of Radek Faksa came in the second period after a power play. Colorado’s penalties were more self-inflicted.
Eight of the Avalanche’s 14 penalty minutes were delayed of game calls. Nikita Zadorov flipped a puck over the glass for delay of game in the first period. The Colorado coaching staff was responsible for the other ones. After Jason Dickinson scored 19 seconds into the game in the first period, Jared Bednar challenged the goal for gold-tender interference. The review was short and the goal remained.
Following the new rules of this season, the first wrong challenge will result in a two-minute penalty. The Avs soon found out that teams will receive a four-minute penalty for every subsequent wrong challenge. The second goal of Faksa came after he tipped John Klingberg’s point shot, and batted home the rebound. He dropped his broken stick after the play. However, Bednar and the Avalanche did believe that Faksa played the puck with a broken stick, and the play should have been called for a penalty.
Faksa said: “I tried getting in front of the net, and I tipped the puck. I just found a rebound and put it in. I saw a broken stick after that, so I was sure it was a good goal.”
They did challenge the play. According to Rule 38.10, a play where the infraction at issue was a missed penalty call subject to the judgement or discretion of the On-Ice Official(s), such infraction cannot result in the “GOAL” call on the ice being overturned, even if upon review, the On-Ice Official(s) would have made a different call.
The goal could not be overturned, but the officials still got it reviewed, then a four-minute penalty was assessed for Colorado.